/*Equalize Blog Columns Script Code*/
Acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT) is a type of intervention that is framed within the so-called third generation, experiential or contextual therapies (the so called “third wave” in Psychology). It is a model of psychological intervention that focuses, as its name suggests, on accepting the problem and its discomfort – accepting that pain is an inevitable part of life – and achieving the significant commitment of the person towards their values.

Today ACT stands out for its abundant and growing empirical evidence. It has been proven effective in a wide variety of psychological disorder, including anxiety, depression, chronic pain, obsessions, or addictions, among others.

ACT assumes that what happens to a person in each moment has to do with their present situation in interaction with previous personal history.

The influence of previous personal history can be divided into two dimensions. On the one hand, those experiences that one carries in their personal backpack. On the other hand, people learn to behave in one way or another, and to follow a series of internal rules with which we move around the world, the result of our experience, socialization, education and culture.

The 6 principles of acceptance and commitment therapy:
Today we are going to talk about the 6 principles of Acceptance and Commitment therapy and what we all call it, ACT.

Core principles:

  1. Cognitive diffusion
  2. Acceptance
  3. Contact with the present moment
  4. The observing self
  5. Values
  6. Committed action

Cognitive diffusion:
This technique will help us to detach a little from our thoughts so that they do not direct our actions. It will allow us to realize that our mind does not always give us useful thoughts. It overcomes the negatives thoughts, images, emotions, and memories.

Acceptance means an attitude of openness to experience, being willing to see, feel, think, whatever appears, without resistance or struggle .It does not mean resignation or surrender to discomfort.

Present moment:
Being in the present moment implies being in the here and now. It means being aware of the present moment.

The observing self:
It is part of one stable and essential, which has always been there, from which you can observe thoughts, physical sensations, emotions … with a certain perspective, differentiating yourself from what you have in the moment.

They refer to what type of person you want to be, what type of friend, partner, child, father and worker. Values ​ are the horizon towards which to walk it refers to discovering what is most important to oneself.

Committed actions:
In the service of a purposeful life, you need to set goals and work according to your values and responsibilities.

Through these 6 principle of work, the psychological flexibility with which one can say yes to life is promoted, and saying yes to life implies saying yes to good things, and also to bad things, and being able to move forward and build a life rich in the presence of positive as well as negative feelings, emotions and thoughts. It is about making the person great in the face of his discomfort, with a repertoire of skills that allow him to go with him when he presents himself.